Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Union Territory

Go down

Union Territory Empty Union Territory

Post by chinhkuqn Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:38 pm

A Union Territory is a sub-national administrative division of India, in the federal framework of governance. Unlike the states of India, which have their own elected governments, union territories are ruled directly by the federal government; the President of India appoints an Administrator or Lieutenant-Governor for each territory.[1]
As of 2009, there are seven union territories.[2] Delhi, the capital of India, is also a Union territory. Delhi and Pondicherry have been given partial statehood. Delhi is redefined as National Capital Territory. Delhi and Pondicherry have their own elected legislative assemblies and the executive councils of ministers, but their powers are limited; certain legislation must be reserved for the "consideration and assent" of the President of India.
The following are the current union territories of India:
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu

Oldsmobile A/C compressors
wholesale cleaning supplies louisville


Posts : 137
Join date : 2011-11-15

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum