Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Development of the New Testa

Go down

Development of the New Testa Empty Development of the New Testa

Post by chinhkuqn Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:12 am

The Canon of the New Testament is the set of books Christians regard as divinely inspired and constituting the New Testament of the Christian Bible. For most, it is an agreed-upon list of twenty-seven books that includes the Canonical Gospels, Acts, letters of the Apostles, and Revelation. The books of the Canon of the New Testament were written mostly in the first century and finished by the year 150AD. For the Orthodox, the recognition of these writings as authoritative was formalized in the Second Council of Trullan of 692, although it was nearly universally accepted in the mid 300's.[1] The Canon of Scripture was the result of debate and research, reaching its final term for Catholics at the dogmatic definition of the Council of Trent when the Old Testament Canon was finalized in the Catholic Church as well.[2]
Writings attributed to the Apostles circulated among the earliest Christian communities. The Pauline epistles were circulating, perhaps in collected forms, by the end of the 1st century AD.[3] Justin Martyr, in the mid 2nd century, mentions "memoirs of the apostles" as being read on Sunday alongside the "writings of the prophets".[4] A four gospel canon (the Tetramorph) was asserted by Irenaeus, c. 180, who refers to it directly.[5][6]

chanel J12 replica watches
hotel di kuala lumpur


Posts : 137
Join date : 2011-11-15

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum